Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Student Case Competition
Share |
itSMF USA and BMC Software are proud to announce this year’s winners of the 2015 Student Case Competition!


Each year, this event brings together graduate-level students interested in Service Management from universities across the country. First place and $5,000 went to the team from Texas A&M and team members Rakesh Kaushik, Roshni Samuel, and Varnitha Sonnegowda. Second place and $3,000 went to the team from The University of Texas at Dallas and team members Aisha Gandhi, Mehul Doshi and Mehul Raisinghani. Third place and $1,000 went to the team from the University of Pittsburgh and team members Ankur Geol, Krishnendu Chaterjee and Preeti Nafri. Indiana University team members Megha Natarjan, Andrew Lewis and Chris Reid proudly represented IU as also showed.

The 2015 itSMF Student Case Competition will be held prior to the Fusion16 in Las Vegas. Schools interested in participating should email for more information.


itSMF USA Student Case Competition Presented by BMC Software

The annual itSMF USA Student Case Competition brings together graduate-level students with an interest in Service Management from universities across the country.  They compete by developing a solution to a case study which is written specifically for this event.

This year's competition will be in New Orleans, LA, the weekend of  10/31-11/1. We were very fortunate again this year to have BMC Software as a sponsor, who continues to demonstrate their commitment to the development and capabilities of the next generation of service management professionals.

This  annual opportunity  for students (max 3 per team, each of whom must be pursuing Master's degree in IS, IT or an MBA) to participate in the development of their knowledge of Service Management thru a real-world case study  that presents a challenge facing IT and business today. 


The case study itself will be provided to your teams in the Fall, giving the students 2-3 weeks to develop a solution/plan to address the challenges represented in the Case Study.  The students will present their solution at the Fusion14 Service Management conference the weekend of October 31.  


There is no entry fee, although students will need to pay for travel and accommodations. The prizes are cash awards of $5000, $3000 and $1000 for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winning teams, respectively. 


FUSION14 Winners Announced

On Sunday, October 19, as the students awaited the results to be announced, an ITSM simulation was conducted with the students.  Doug Tedder, of Tedder Consulting, led the Grab @ Pizza (add registered mark) simulation, allowing these students to experience key ITIL processes first-hand.

This year, 6 schools participated in the competition:

The competition was held on Saturday, October 18, 2014, at the National Harbor Gaylord Hotel & Resort in Washington, DC., just prior to the Fusion14 Conference.

The students presented their solutions to the case study to a panel of judges made up of industry experts:

  • Jaquetta Madgett, BMC Software
  • Carolyn Hennings, cmhstudies and case study author Jenny Geisler, Aeritae and ITSMF USA Treasurer Robyn McGregor, McGregor Consulting and ITSMF USA Director Cathy Kirch, Allstate and ITSMF USA LIG Leader Tim Peterson, Xcel Energy and ITSMF USA LIG Leader

The case study was based on a fictional government agency with a service management challenge, in honor of the location of this years' Fusion conference being held in our nation's capital.  All teams impressed the judges with their presentation skills, level of thought and maturity.

A copy of the case study as well as the presentations submitted can be found here.

Congratulations to this years' award recipients!

First place ($5000) - University of Indiana

  • Mansi Bhatt
  • Daiana Dangerfield
  • Lakshmi Chaudhari

Second place ($3000) - Texas A&M University

  • Aravindan Rajamani
  • Parul Rannot
  • Darryl Alva

Third place ($1000) - University of Pittsburgh

  • Aishwarya Garg
  • Vaibhav Sharma
  • Aditya Gupta

A video of the awards presentation as well as pictures from the competition and of the winning teams can be found here.

Thanks to BMC Software, all participating universities, judges, and Doug Tedder, supporting this year's competition!

Susan Schellhase
>ITSMF USA Board of Directors
Citizen Development & Chapter Intellectual Capital

Again, many thanks to BMC for their generous support of this event as well as all the judges. All are looking forward to next year's competition in New Orleans, November 1-4, 2015. Any school that wishes to participate in 2015 should contact for more information. Universities, get your teams ready!

Attention itSMF USA Members! Download all of the student case presentations at the link below. Take advantage of this members-only benefit today!Not a member? With so many members-only benefits there's no reason no to! Join today!


FUSION 13 BMC Student Case Competition Winners!

The itSMF USA Knowledge Management portfolio manages IP created by and/or offered to our membership.  The highlight each year of this portfolio is without question the BMC Student Case Competition.  We invite teams of 3 students each from master-level programs across the country.  Eight schools competed this year, each developing a solution to a case study provided three weeks prior to the competition, which they presented to a panel of 6 judges.

The eight schools competing this year included:

  • Indiana University
  • University of Arizona
  • Purdue University
  • Texas A&M University
  • University of Illinois Chicago
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Southern Florida
  • Tulane University

We were very fortunate this year, as in years past, to have the support and sponsorship of BMC Software.  Through their contribution, itSMF USA is able to award cash prizes to the winners:  $5000 to first place, $3000 for second and $1000 for third.  We also award an Honorable Mention.


Congratulations to the 2013 winners! 




1st Place | Texas A&M University Karen Baker Manish Gandhi Karthik  







2nd Place | Indiana University Andrew Ruggles Sayali Mahajan Kevin EidenVenkatachalapathi









3rd Place | University of Illinois, Chicago Rajeev Ravikumar Sabarie Mohhan Mrunmayi Gadre









Honorable Mention |  University of Pittsburgh Kuldeep Ajaria Anurag Nandan Vignaraj Gadvi