Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
itSMF USA Announces FUSION 16 Award Finalists & Winners
Share |




Houston, TX | November 29, 2016


itSMF USA is proud to announce the finalists and winners of their itSMF USA Awards. The goal of these awards is to recognize and celebrate excellence and achievements within our community.


Each of the award finalists and winners were chosen for their excellence in IT Service Management, the corresponding business results and their support of the itSMF USA community.


The itSMF USA Award Finalists and Winners are:


Service Management in Action Award

This award recognizes excellence in Service Management industry relevance and business outcomes by a company. The finalists for the Service Management in Action Award are Johnson Controls and Whirlpool Corporation.  Both of these organizations did some very impressive work!


The winner of the 2016 Service Management in Action Award is Johnson Controls.


By establishing service management best practices and processes and through automation, Johnson Controls was able to reduce costs by $1.5 million.


itSMF Contributor of the Year Award

This award recognizes an individual for their excellence in Service Management and their overall participation in the Service Management industry and itSMF USA. This year’s finalists are Karl Bietsch and Veasta Hogue.


The winner of the 2016 itSMF Contributor of the Year Award is Karl Bietsch.


Mr. Bietsch is a mentor, teacher, speaker and long standing member of the itSMF USA community. He generously contributes his knowledge on Service Management content, trends and industry direction as a frequent writer and speaker. 


itSMF Community Excellence Awards

These awards recognize the contributions from virtual and local itSMF Communities.  These groups have provided outstanding contributions in support of the mission and goals of itSMF USA. There are two awards in this category, the Upstart LIG of the Year Award and the Sustained Performance LIG of the Year Award.


The Upstart of the Year is awarded to a new Community that has shown tangible provision of relevant learning, growth and networking for Service Management professionals. The Sustained Performance Community Award is awarded to the group that has shown consistent commitment and success in creating relevant content, networking and learning opportunities for Service Management professionals.


The winner of the 2016 Upstart LIG of the Year Award is the Ohio Valley Community,

represented by President Jay Lescoe.


The Ohio Valley Community focused on delivering WOW events.  Through their dedicated strategy and excellent use of analytics, they were able to offer innovative programs which resulted in significant growth.


The winner of the Sustained Performance Community of the Year Award is the Heartland Community,

represented by President Marko E. Johnson.


The Heartland Community has successfully held seven events per year over the last four years. They have demonstrated excellence in the fundamentals such as providing exceptional opportunities for members through networking and thought provoking presentations.  In addition, they consistently applied good business practices relating to reporting and budgeting which allowed them to attract and maintain dedicated members.


itSMF USA President’s Award

This award is an honor that is rarely presented.  Individuals receiving this award have made an outstanding contribution to the Service Management industry. They’ve given their time and talent to provide significant opportunities for others in our community. 


The winner of this year’s President’s Award is Jill Zimmerman.


Ms. Zimmerman has been instrumental in creating a powerful program line up at the FUSION Conference. Through her leadership and guidance, she has contributed to the growth and learning of thousands of FUSION attendees.


Congratulations to all the finalists and winners! We are proud to recognize your accomplishments. 



itSMF USA would also like to thank Fruition Partners, a CSC Company for their sponsorship of the awards program.  Their dedication to the service management community allows us to recognize the outstanding work of our award winners.  The itSMF USA Awards are presented at the FUSION Conference. Learn more about the awards and past winners at


About itSMF USA

itSMF USA is a chapter of itSMF International. They are the leading independent professional organization and forum for IT Service Management professionals in the US. For more information on itSMF USA, visit


About FUSION 16

The FUSION 16 Conference is the premiere Service Management conference of the year. Jointly hosted by itSMF USA and HDI, FUSION 16 brings together the best speakers, vendors and networking opportunities for service management professionals for four days in Las Vegas, Nevada. Learn more about FUSION 16 at