Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Awards and Recognition
Share |



The objective of the itSMF USA Awards & Recognition Program is to shine the spotlight – literally and figuratively – on the best of the best in the ITSM industry and in the service of the membership of the itSMF USA. In doing so we seek to achieve a fully engaged and contributing membership through recognition, rewards, encouragement and reinforcement of the standards, mission, goals, values and principles of the itSMF USA.

The program is administered by a volunteer committee adhering to the stated criteria with the highest level of objectivity and rigor.


2016 itSMF USA Awards

The annual itSMF USA awards – announced at FUSION 16 – are not just about recognizing and celebrating the achievements of groups, companies, and individuals. They’re also an entry point into the knowledge and experience of those who have already succeeded.

The awards are also a great advertisement for IT service management (ITSM) and its applicability to organizations of all shapes and sizes. Take the itSMF USA Project of the Year for instance, where you’ve an educational institution, a public organization, and private organization all winning regional awards.


We are pleased to announce that we are now accepting nominations for these new itSMF USA Awards!

We want to celebrate your success – personally, with your Service Management Team, and with your LIG – Local Interest Group / CoI-Community of Interest.   Join in the fun and recognition by submitting your application before August 31st.

Mark your calendars! AUGUST 31st is the award nomination deadline. 

June 20th

Award Submission period OPEN

August 31st

Award Submission period CLOSED

Sept 7th

Judging completed for Awards

Nov 1st - 4th

Presentation of Awards from the FUSION 2016 Main Stage!


“Service Management In Action” nomination forms can be found here.    

“itSMF Contributor of the Year” nomination forms can be found here.

“itSMF LIG/COI Excellence” nomination forms can be found here



itSMF USA Member of the Year

Joan Coolidge

itSMF USA Member of the Year Regional Recipients

  • East Region: Joan Coolidge
  • West Region: Donovan Hardenbrook
  • Central Region: Debbie Huddleston
  • South Region: Karl Bietsch


itSMF USA Project of the Year

The Coca-Cola Company - Redesigning the Global Coca-Cola Service Catalog

itSMF USA Project of the Year Regional Recipients

East Region

SRA International/National Cancer Institute - KM2 (Knowledge Management & Mobility

West Region

Toyota - One Toyota Service


South Region

The Coca-Cola Company - Redesigning the Global Coca-Cola Service Catalog



itSMF USA Project of the Year Award

2015 - The Coca-Cola Company 

2014 - The County of Los Angeles ISD

2013 - Assurant, Inc. 

2012 - The Walt Disney World Resort
2011 – By business sector:

  • Public Sector and Higher Education – Emory University
  • Small and Medium Size Business – Society for Worldwide Interbank Financial Telecommunications (SWIFT)
  • Large Business – Charter Communications

2010 – By business sector:

  • Public Sector and Higher Education – Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Information Technology Division
  • Small and Medium Size Business – Maritz
  • Large Business – Oracle Global IT

2009 – Thomson Reuters Roger Bennett & Global Process Team
2008 – Procter & Gamble Product Lifecycle Management Operations Management Team
2007 – State of North Carolina Service Excellence Program

itSMF USA Lifetime Achievement Award

2013 - Dr. Suzanne Van Hove
2010 – David Cannon

2007 – Ken Wendle

2008 – Leah Palmer
2006 – Butch Sheets
2004 – Ken Hamilton

itSMF USA Member of the Year Award

2015 - Joan Coolidge 

2014 - Lisa Kass

2013 - Jeanette McGillicuddy
2012 - John Kleist
2011 - Michael Caruso
2010 – Michele Bonner
2009 – Dhiraj Gupta
2008 – Teresa Mount
2007 – Kirk Holmes
2006 – Maria Metcalf
2005 – Denis Esslinger

itSMF USA Interest Group Excellence Award

2015 - Atlanta 

2014 - Los Angeles LIG and Higher Education SIG

2013 - Dallas / Fort Worth
2012 - Minnesota
2011 - Ohio Valley
2010 - Austin
2009 – Ohio Valley
2008 – National Capitol
2007 – Lehigh-Delaware Valley
2006 – Ohio Valley
2005 – South Florida
2004 – Minnesota

itSMF USA President’s Award

2015 - Jay Stuart 

2014 - Eddie Vidal

2013 - Cathy Kirch
2012 - Deb Ingram
2011 - Julie Montgomery
2010 – Chris Dancy
2009 – Brent Knipfer
2008 – Cassius Downs
2007 – Sallie Kennedy
2006 – Dennis Ravenelle
2005 – Leah Palmer
2004 – Jean Ritala

itSMF USA Industry Knowledge Contribution Award

2011 - Dr. Suzanne Van Hove
2010 – Jack Probst
2009 – Alex Hernandez
2007 – itSMF Certified Partner Network Academia

itSMF USA Rookie Interest Group Award

2010 – San Diego
2008 – Mid-America
2007 – Tallahassee
2006 – Central North Carolina

itSMF USA Platinum Sponsor Award

2004 - Ron Nelson

itSMF USA Service Management Excellence Award

2001 – Brett Ostlund